Uncategorized

Keeping Things in Their Proper Perspective

ImageI heard a great story about a college freshmen writing home to her parents that I wanted to share:

Dear Mom and Dad,

I’m sorry that I haven’t written home for awhile but now I want to catch up on all that has happened these past few months. Are you sitting down? Don’t read this until you are sitting down. Alright.

Well, there was a fire in residence hall. Don’t worry, I’m okay. I just broke my leg jumping out the second story window but it’s healing and I found some place to live. Fortunately, the nice gas station attendant who called 911 let me stay with him at his place. It’s more of a basement apartment really. But, don’t worry, it’s cute. Mom and Dad, I also wanted to tell you that we’re in love. We’re going to get married. I know this may seem a little sudden to you, but he’s a great guy and comes from a great background. His dad is a gun bearer in Africa.

Our wedding will not be for awhile though. First I want to have the baby. Yes, that’s right. I’m pregnant. Also, the doctors are testing the baby to make sure I don’t pass HIV onto the child. Yes, you read that right. I am HIV positive now. I can imagine this all must be a shock to you. I know you will come to love this child as if it was one of your own children. You will be great grandparents.

Mom and dad, there is one last thing I have to tell you. I’m not really pregnant. I’m not HIV positive. I’m not getting married or living with a gas station attendant. I did not break my leg. There was no fire. However, I am getting a D in English and an F in Math and I wanted you to keep those grades in their proper perspective.


May you keep all the trials and heartaches in your life in their proper perspective. This world and all it’s problems is not the end. These things you’re dealing with today may very well have a solution or some kind of improvement during your lifetime. But, as a Christian, I can remind myself that God is by my side, on my side and that there is heaven to look forward to after this life and all it’s problems pass away.


Related Articles:

Leave a comment