Purity

As a divorced woman, sexual purity wasn’t exactly the best news. Who does want to think about not getting any for a loooooooong time – if they do dare to remarry?

I’ve heard many who have struggled with this issue. A lot of people almost feel like they HAVE to sleep with their significant other in this day and age. Or else that person might leave them for someone less old fashioned.

I can empathize. When I was dating my ex-husband, I had made up my mind to wait for marriage. But I was tempted and I was afraid of losing him. So I compromised. I thought like Bill Clinton. I figured as long as we didn’t go all the way, we could fool around and it would be okay.

We eventually got married. Then all the marriage troubles started. Being with someone who didn’t share the same beliefs wasn’t working out for either of us. I ended up losing him to divorce. The headaches and heartache were incredible.

I truly believe now that even fooling around before marriage is so not worth it. I now look at waiting as a test of someone’s love and commitment for me. If I was going to make a commitment to someone for the rest of my life, I would definitely want that person to believe I’m valuable enough to wait for.

And in God’s eyes, I am so incredibly valuable, there’s no question I’m worth the wait. And you are too. (1 Corinthians 6:19-20)

I know the whole purity thing is never easy and relationships and marriage aren’t exactly a walk in the park either. I find comfort knowing Jesus walked through temptation and suffering (Luke 4:1-13, Isaiah 53). He does understand. He is more than willing to help when we’re hurting (Hebrews 4:15-16) When I’m discouraged, I also try to remember the hope God has planned for me. There are many promises in scripture that remind us what we’re suffering now is nothing compared to the blessings God has in store for us. (Romans 8;18, 2 Corinthians 4:17-18, Jeremiah 29:11, Zechariah 9:12, Psalm 16:11, 1 Corinthians 2:9, John 10:9-10).

I hope you have a blessed day.If you want to know more about your value to God, check out Path to Heaven and Our True Identity.

Leave a Reply

